Bedra

Innovations secure the future.

Investments and ideas consolidate our market leadership.

Expertise is the prerequisite for our success. Innovations are visible proof of our own capabilities. Our innovations have their home in the Berkenhoff Competence Center. Not only do we continuously expand our know-how here with important basic research, but we also work in detail on tailor-made solutions and technologies. Theory and practice come together at the Berkenhoff Competence Center.

Innovations are a central thread of the company.

We enjoy a good reputation in the industry. And that’s not without good reason: After all, we are generally regarded as the innovation leader in the field of EDM wires. A look at the past 50 years shows how large our contribution has been to the development of new generations of wire. At intervals of a few years, we have succeeded in continuously developing wires: Copper wires (1969), brass wires (1976), galvanized wires (1979), diffusion annealing wires (1987), composite wires (1998), gamma-phase wires (2001), up to our latest innovation (presenting a global first at EMO 2019) – all of this started as innovations in our company. To this day, these generations of wire are the basis of our good reputation and quality.

Electroplating equipment conserves resources.

Our own electroplating plays a key role. Its wire coating system guarantees high-quality electronic, EDM, and special wires. With our own patents, we can manufacture highly complex wires, some with multiple coatings. The range is enormous: Our spectrum ranges from simple pure tin coatings through variants with nickel or copper barrier layers to multi-layer technology.

For all these processes we can ensure compliance with the RoHS guideline in both alloy composition and electroplating. With our new electroplating equipment, we have been able to further increase our process speed. At the same time, the equipment protects the environment and requires up to fifty percent less fresh water due to its recirculation of process water. Further advantages and value-added services of our new electroplating system:

  • In-house coating for specified surfaces
  • No need for service providers
  • Short reaction times
  • Self-monitoring of process parameters
  • Our own wet-chemical laboratory
  • Test equipment such as X-ray fluorescence

bedra360 – more sustainability in the industry

The latest proof of our innovative ability is the bedra360 sustainability concept for spark erosion. In this way, we assume responsibility and devote ourselves to the pressing issues of environmental protection. We’re planning to put a system on the market for taking back recyclable materials that is so smart that everyone involved will benefit from the new service – first and foremost the environment. In a sophisticated recycling loop, wire recyclable materials are collected in special containers and returned to us for reprocessing.

Since we are the only manufacturer in Europe to independently map all processes from the melting of the primary material to the drawing of the finished wire, we are predestined for such a service. This enables us to meet our customers’ need for greater sustainability.

Please contact me

Dr. Tobias Nöthe

Dr. Tobias Nöthe

Chief Technical Officer (CTO)

Berkenhoff GmbH (headquarters)

  • Kinzenbach plant
  • Berkenhoffstrasse 14
  • 35452 Heuchelheim
  • Germany

Berkenhoff GmbH

  • Merkenbach plant
  • Rehmühle 1
  • 35745 Herborn
  • Germany

Follow us

Close

Service

Bedra

Innovationen sichern die Zukunft

Investitionen und Ideen festigen unsere Marktführerschaft

Kompetenz ist die Voraussetzung für unsere Erfolge. Innovationen sind ein nach außen hin sichtbarer Beleg unserer eigenen Fähigkeiten. Ihre Heimat haben unsere Innovationen im Berkenhoff Competence Center. Dort betreiben wir nicht nur die wichtige Grundlagenforschung, die unser Know-how kontinuierlich erweitert, sondern hier arbeiten wir intensiv an maßgeschneiderten Lösungen und Technologien. Theorie und Praxis finden im Berkenhoff Competence Center zielgerichtete Schnittstellen.

Innovationen als roter Faden des Unternehmens

In der Branche genießen wir einen guten Ruf. Und das nicht ohne Grund: Schließlich gelten wir gemeinhin als Innovationsführer im Bereich EDM-Drähte. Ein Blick auf die zurückliegenden 50 Jahre verdeutlicht, wie groß unser Beitrag zur Entwicklung neuer Drahtgenerationen ist. Im Abstand weniger Jahre ist es uns gelungen, Drähte kontinuierlich weiterzuentwickeln: Kupferdrähte (1969), Messingdrähte (1976), verzinkte Drähte (1979), Diffusionsglühdrähte (1987), Composite Drähte (1998), Gammaphasendrähte (2001) bis hin zu unserer neuesten Entwicklung (Präsentation Weltneuheit auf Messe EMO 2019) – alles dies hat in unserem Hause als Innovation begonnen. Bis heute begründen diese Drahtgenerationen unseren guten Ruf und unsere Qualität.

Galvanik schont Ressourcen

Eine Schlüsselrolle hat unsere eigene Galvanik. Ihre Drahtbeschichtungsanlagen garantieren hochwertige Elektronik-, EDM- und Spezialdrähte. Auf der Basis unserer eigenen Patente sind wir so in der Lage, hochkomplexe Drähte – zum Teil mehrfach beschichtet – herzustellen. Die Bandbreite ist enorm hoch: Unser Spektrum reicht von einfachen Reinzinnbeschichtungen über Varianten mit Nickel- oder Kupfer-Sperrschichten bis hin zur Mehrschichttechnologie.

Bei allen diesen Verfahren können wir die Einhaltung der RoHS-Richtlinie sowohl in der Legierungszusammensetzung als auch in der Galvanik sicherstellen. Auf der Grundlage unserer neuen Galvanikanlage konnten wir unsere Prozessgeschwindigkeit nochmals steigern. Gleichzeitig schont die Anlage die Umwelt und benötigt durch die Mehrfachnutzung von Prozesswasser bis zu fünfzig Prozent weniger Frischwasser. Weitere Vorteile und Mehrwertleistungen unserer neuen Galvanik:

  • Inhouse-Beschichtung für angegebene Oberflächen
  • Verzicht auf Dienstleister
  • Kurze Reaktionszeiten
  • Eigenüberwachung der Prozessparameter
  • Eigenes nass-chemisches Labor
  • Prüfmittel wie Röntgenfluoreszenz

bedra360 – mehr Nachhaltigkeit in der Branche

Neuester Beleg für unsere Innovationskraft ist das Nachhaltigkeitskonzept bedra360 im Bereich der Funkenerosion. Damit übernehmen wir Verantwortung und widmen uns intensiv den drängenden Fragen des Umweltschutzes. Wir planen, ein System zur Wertstoffrücknahme so intelligent am Markt zu platzieren, dass alle Beteiligten von dem neuen Service profitieren – und zuallererst die Umwelt. Mithilfe eines ausgeklügelten Recycling-Kreislaufs werden Draht-Wertstoffe in speziellen Behältern gesammelt und an uns zur Wiederaufbereitung zurückgeführt.

Da wir als einziger Hersteller in Europa von der Einschmelzung des Vormaterials bis zum Ziehen des Fertigdrahts alle Prozesse autark abbilden, sind wir prädestiniert für einen derartigen Service. Damit bedienen wir die Nachfrage unserer Kunden nach mehr Nachhaltigkeit

Nehmen Sie mit mir Kontakt auf

Dr. Tobias Nöthe

Dr. Tobias Nöthe

Geschäftsführung (CTO)

Berkenhoff GmbH (Hauptsitz)

  • Werk Kinzenbach
  • Berkenhoffstraße 14
  • 35452 Heuchelheim
  • Deutschland

Berkenhoff GmbH

  • Werk Merkenbach
  • Rehmühle 1
  • 35745 Herborn
  • Deutschland

Folgen Sie uns

Close

Service